Layoff tracker for WARN Act filings filed with the Kansas Dept of Commerce.
Last updated: Oct 16, 2026 · Showing last 24 months
Kansas has recorded 24 WARN filings over the past 24 months, affecting 2,746 workers across 22 companies. The most active filer is First Brands Group with 3 filings. Most filings are concentrated in Iola, Edgerton, and Emporia. Filing dates range from Nov 12, 2024 through May 1, 2026. The five largest employers account for 60 percent of the 2,746 workers affected in this window, led by Tyson Foods with 809.
The current year is incomplete; these totals are not a like-for-like growth comparison.
Note: 100% of filings do not specify type.
Federal WARN generally requires 60 days notice for covered events, subject to exceptions. Check coverage and the state rules below. Public filing dates do not establish the notice you received. Contact Kansas Dept of Commerce for unemployment and Rapid Response assistance.
Apply online at the Kansas Dept of Commerce. You may be eligible before your last day.
Continue your employer health plan for up to 18 months, or compare lower-cost options on the Health Insurance Marketplace.
Federal WARN generally requires 60 days notice for covered employers and qualifying events, subject to exceptions. State rules may differ.
Free career counseling, resume help, job search assistance, and retraining programs through CareerOneStop.
America's Job Centers offer free career counseling, resume help, job search assistance, and retraining vouchers for WARN-affected workers. Ask about Rapid Response services.
Kansas has expanded 'mini-WARN' requirements with lower thresholds than the federal standard. All data on this page is sourced from official filings published by the Kansas Dept of Commerce. Filings through May 1, 2026. View source data at Kansas Dept of Commerce →
Kansas has no separate state layoff notice statute. Employers here follow the federal WARN Act, which sets the floor in every state.
Federal WARN requires 60 days written notice before a covered plant closing or mass layoff, and reaches employers with 100 or more employees.
Because Kansas adds no state requirement, a layoff below those thresholds can be entirely lawful with no notice at all, and will not appear in the filings on this page. What WARN does not cover.
Source: Kansas Department of Commerce, Workforce Services. Checked 2026-08-10. Plain-language summary, not legal advice. State legislatures amend these rules; confirm the current text before relying on it.
| Company | City | Type | Workers | Effective | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Student | Cincinnati 191 Rosa Parks St, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 |
151 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-05-01 |
2026-05-01 | |
| Ashley Clinic/Southeast Kansas Mental Health Center | Iola 304 N. Jefferson Ave, Iola, Kansas 66749 |
116 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-03-27 |
2026-03-27 | |
| First Brands Group | Edgerton 32901 W. 193rd St.Edgerton, Kansas 66021 |
64 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-02-27 |
2026-02-27 | |
| First Brands Group | Emporia 428 Peyton St.Emporia, Kansas 66801 |
130 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-02-23 |
2026-02-23 | |
| First Brands Group | Edgerton W 185th St.Edgerton, Kansas 66030 |
81 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-02-23 |
2026-02-23 | |
| Lowe's | Charlotte 100 W Worthington Avenue, Charlotte, North Carolina 28203 |
3 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-02-13 |
2026-02-13 | |
| Vornado Air | Andover 415 E. 13thAndover, Kansas 67002 |
72 | Not reported Recorded: 2026-01-30 |
2026-01-30 | |
| Gates Corporation "Gates" | Iola 1450 Montana Road, Iola, Kansas 66749 |
81 | Not reported Recorded: 2025-10-02 |
2025-10-02 | |
| United BioSource | Overland Park 12900 Foster Street, Overland Park, Kansas 66213 |
123 | Not reported Recorded: 2025-09-26 |
2025-09-26 | |
| SPO Management | Manhattan 520 McCall Rd, Manhattan, Kansas 66502 |
72 | Not reported Recorded: 2025-07-29 |
2025-07-29 |
Receive a daily digest when new WARN filings are posted in Kansas.